Storm Front by Jim Butcher

storm-front-dresden-files

Rating: 3 Stars ★★★☆☆

I heard the mailman approach my office door, half an hour earlier than usual.

Plot

Meet Harry Dresden, Chicago’s first (and only) Wizard P.I. Turns out that ‘everyday’ world is full of strange and magical things – and most of them don’t play well with humans. That’s where Harry comes in.

Harry is the best at what he does – and not just because he’s the only one who does it. So whenever the Chicago P.D. has a case that transcends mortal capabilities, they look to him for answers. But business isn’t just slow, it stinks.

So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name. And that’s when things start to get . . . interesting.

Review

HARRY DRESDEN – WIZARD

Lost Items Found. Paranormal Investigations.

Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates.

No Love Potions, Endless Purses, Parties or Other Entertainment.

Harry Dresden the only real wizard in Chicago, and the only one out in the open. But business is not going as good as he would like. He has trouble making his rent and his only regular paycheck is the one he gets from the police department, where Agent Karrin Murphy calls him in  whenever there is a strange case.

And the latest one is more than strange. Someone powerful managed to rip the hearts out of a couple. Except this person was not in the hotel room with the couple. Harry is dealing with a black mage.

I liked the worldbuilding. The magic, the police angle, the creatures that populate it.

Anything manufactured after the forties is suspect – and doesn’t seem to have much liking for me. You name it: cars, radios, telephones, TVs, VCRs – none of them seem to behave well for me.

And I liked the story.

However, the part I didn’t like was the whole sexist angle.

“Women are better at hating than men. They can focus it better, let it go better. Hell, witches are just plain meaner than wizards. This feels like feminine vengeance of some kind to me.”

And I hate that he doesn’t give Murphy information she fucking needs for the case. He says it’s because he wants to protect her but mostly it is because it would inconvenience him to answer some questions

The second problem, and the one that worried me a lot more, was that there were already three people dead. And if I hasn’t gotten lucky and creative, there would have been two more dead people, back at my apartment. I still didn’t know who the bad guy was. Telling Murphy what little more I knew wouldn’t give her any helpful information. It would only make her ask more questions, and she wanted answers.

Now that part I didn’t really like. But still, the story was cool, the worldbuilding was cool and I liked the characters. I loved Murphy (hopefully she gets to play a better role in the next installments) and the skull and I liked Harry.

I look forward to the next part in the series.

Conclusion

A great and action-packed start to what promises to be a great Urban Fantasy series.

Leave a Reply

