Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed

wild-cheryl-strayed

Rating: 3 Stars ★★★☆☆

The trees were tall, but I was taller, standing above them on a steep mountain slope in northern California.

About

At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike more than a thousand miles of the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mojave Desert through California and Oregon to Washington State — and she would do it alone.

Review

Wild was a really interesting book. The author went on the Pacific Crest Trail struggling with the death of her mother a few years prior. Her grief throughout the book is palpable.

All of that was impossible now, regardless of what the letter said. My mom was dead. My mom was dead. My mom was dead. Everything I ever imagined about myself had disappeared into the crack of her last breath.

Travelling alone as a woman is a brave thing to do, particularly somewhere where there is no one to call for help. I really appreciated that she didn’t gloss over this topic and over her fears on the matter.

“I’m talking about liking your pants,” the man said with a touch of irritation. “They look good on you. They show off your hips and legs.”

“Please don’t say that,” I said as unfalteringly as I could.

“What? I’m complimenting you! Can’t a guy give a girl a compliment anymore? You should be flattered.”

“Thank you,” I said in an attempt to pacify him, hating myself for it.

I also really liked the descriptions of the trail in all its harsh beauty.

Conclusion

A great read about a woman coming to grips with her mother’s death while travelling the gorgeous landscape of the Pacific Crest Trail.

Leave a Reply

