Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder Book Cover

Rating: 4.5 Stars

The screw through Cinder’s ankle had rusted, the engraved cross marks worn to a mangled circle.

Plot

Cinder is the best mechanic in New Beijing. She’s also a cyborg. As if life isn’t difficult enough in a city ravaged by a mysterious plague and threatened by war with the Lunars, being a cyborg also means she is a second-class citizen with very few rights. She’s basically her stepmothers property.

When the prince himself brings a broken android to her for repairs, she is caught up in the plots between the Lunar kingdom and Earth and her mysterious past.

Review

I absolutely loved the premise of this book: a retelling of Cinderella set in the future. Here, Cinderella is a cyborg. It’s just awesome.

And can we talk about Cinder? I loved Cinder. She’s sarcastic, she deeply cares about those who are kind to her and she does not let her circumstances get her down. She’s a fighter and she’s a great protagonist. I loved reading about her.

I also really liked the worldbuilding. It felt real. I mean, we basically have magical moon.-dwelling citizens with mind-bending powers and a fairy tale retelling at yet it all felt pretty plausible.

Lunars were a society that had evolved from an Earthen moon colony centuries ago, but they weren’t human anymore. People said Lunars could alter a person’s brain – make you see things you shouldn’t see, feel things you shouldn’t feel, do things you didn’t want to do.



Most of the story is set in New Beijing and it sounds like an amazing city. I loved the mixture between sci-fi and classical asian features. I loved that we have a palace and also androids rolling around.

Iko rolled to her side, clasping her metal grippers over her chest. “Prince Kai! Check my fan, I think I’m overheating.”



The relationship between prince Kai and Cinder was also sweet and believable. Neither he nor she forget that he is a prince. I liked that and I liked the chemistry between them.


Conclusion

A great start to a new series. I loved this sci-fi version of our future and I adored Cinder.

2 thoughts on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

