2016 in Review – The Numbers

2016-3

It’s that time of the year – the time for reminiscences and reviews. I’m a sucker for statistics, so I broke down the books I read into some numbers.

In 2016 I read 68 books with a total of 26.000 pages, which is less than last year and less than my goal of reading 100 books this year. So I did not complete my goodreads challenge 😦

Still, considering that this was a very busy year for me, it’s not too bad a number. I will set a more reasonable goal for next year.

My to-be-read pile, however, is a different story. I think it has grown exponentially this year. Not finishing that many books did not stop me from buying more and more of them.

The longest book I read was 576 pages long, which is pretty short, I think. I usually read at least some 1000-page-books.

Gender

gender

To be honest, I was a bit surprised that in the end, I didn’t read as many female authors as I thought I had. It is close to 50/50 but I actually thought it would be closer.

If I look at how many books I read were by people of colour, the number is terribly low: 4 out of 68. That’s a measly 6%. Shockingly low.

Even worse, most of the protagonists in the books I read were Caucasian as well and the books mostly set in an Anglo-American or European setting.

That is something I definitely aim to change next year.

 

Century

century

Maybe a strange number to look at, but it was fascinating for me to see how many 21st century books I read this year. I definitely hope to improve the score on the classics next year and read more books published in the 19th century or before.

 

Genre

Genre.jpg

No surprises here. Fantasy is by far the genre I read the most. Almost 40% of 2016’s books were Fantasy. Though I am a bit surprised that there aren’t all that many Science Fiction books on this year’s list. I thought there would be more.

 

One thought on “2016 in Review – The Numbers

Leave a Reply

