Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

is-everyone-hanging-out-without-me

Rating: 2.5 Stars ★★☆☆☆

About

In Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, Mindy invites readers on a tour of her life and her unscientific observations on romance, friendship, and Hollywood, with several conveniently placed stopping points for you to run errands and make phone calls. Mindy Kaling really is just a Girl Next Door—not so much literally anywhere in the continental United States, but definitely if you live in India or Sri Lanka.

Review

To be honest, I just didn’t get it. I expected a funny memoir, what I got was a collection of essays, most of them disconnected and many of them about people I didn’t know.

Only people who have seen the British Office will remember the moment when David Brent says, “I think there’s been a rape up there” in a sensitivity training seminar he is holding. As my friend B.J. Novak described it, it was such a profoundly funny moment on television that there was a paradigm shift in comendy after he said it.

Mindy Kaling seems like an awesome woman, but I guess you actually have to be semifamiliar with her work to understand this book. I’m not familiar with The Office or the actors involved. And frankly, I don’t care all that much how they are in private and this book didn’t manage to bring them to life for me.

And sadly, it just wasn’t my kind of humour. There were some nice moments in there, but just not enough to win me over.

Conclusion

I suppose it is a great book for Kaling fans, but sadly, it wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

