Grave Witch by Kalayna Price

Grave Witch

Rating: 4 Stars ★★★★☆

The first time I encountered Death, I hurled my mother’s medical chart at him.



Plot

Alex Craft is a grave witch. It means she is closer to death than others and can raise the shades of the dead. In a world where magic and the fae are known, but witches are viewed sceptically, her powers make her more suspect than most.

Alex mainly uses her powers to help relatives – and the police. But when a new case comes her way, she is in over her head: someone is using very dark magic to kill magic-users.

Review

Okay, this book had a really great Urban Fantasy world. I loved that magic and magical creatures were out in the open and I loved the exploration of the consequences it would have.

Turning, I walked through the metal detector. No issue there, but the spell detector beeped loudly as I stepped through.



These are then things you would really have to keep in mind when having to deal with supernatural crime as well as the ordinary one. I also liked the conflict between some humans and the magical community. It was nuanced with one party against them and some not.

The Humans First Party claimed that the fae could commit crimes in broad daylight and no one would be the wiser because of their glamour – an illusion magic so string it could reshape reality. I’d never believed it. Guess this was my wake-up call.



I liked Alex and her friends, particularly that she had female friends. The mystery was also very well written and kept me going. The use of her magic to prosecute criminals and give the dead a voice was fascinating and her relationship with Death was well-written and believable. I mean, Death in jeans and t-shirt? Sign me up

Conclusion

A great urban fantasy book with some different ideas. I look forward to the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

