Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: Review

18365893

Rating: 4 Stars


This book is totally true, except for the parts that aren’t. It’s basically like Little House on the Prairie but with more cursing.

The Plot


Let’s Pretend This Never Happened tells episodes of Jenny Lawson’s life, from growing up the daughter of a taxidermist in rural Texas to marriage.


The Good

This book is incredibly funny. I was actually laughing out loud, not just smiling. One chapter in particular had me lauging so hard my I barely could breathe. It was “Stanley, the Magical Talking Squirrel”. I will not spoiler it for you, but this chapter alone is worth buying the book.

Some of the stories were incredibly bizarre, but in a good way. Jenny Lawson’s rural Texas childhood is about as far from my childhood as it can get, but I really wish now I could have had some bobcats thrown at me or something. I don’t think I would survive long there but it sounds like fun.

Furthermore, her reactions to the things that happened to her and her thoughts had me nodding along, because who doesn’t sometimes react strangely to strange situations?

Then I heard the possible rapist again, and so I coughed, because I thought it might be a burglar who didn’t realize I was home.

It also contained some really sweet and heartbreaking memories and some snippets of true wisdom.

“Well, I had faith in you,” I said sweetly. This is one of my favorite phrases to use in an argument, because it’s hard for someone to contradict you without blatantly admitting that your faith in them is utterly unjustified.



The Bad

I loved this book, but it wasn’t quite 5 stars for me. Mostly because there was a tendency to go on tangents so you forgot what the original story was.


The Conclusion

I would absolutely recommend this book. I can’t wait for the next one.

One thought on “Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: Review

Leave a Reply

